French specialists in choral singing!
Diaphonia 1- Les premières polyphonies

Diaphonia 1- Les premières polyphonies

(Code: A135500008)

This book was published by Jacques Viret.
This is an overview of the historical, theoretical and musical data we know about the origins of the Western polyphony to the 11th century. This period of time is little known but musically rich. A long study and musical texts are gathered in this book. The musical texts can be sung but there are also in the book to complete the historical and theoretical explanations. The practical section with the scores is an association between transcriptions and reproductions. This book is the first of its kind. The approach, the notation, the research and knowledges are new and make this book a reference book. 24 scores reviewed and commented.

26.50 EUR

Les premières polyphonies : 800-1100 - Historical and theoretical study. Practical edition of musical texts by Jacques VIRET :


This volume provides for the first time a vast synthesis of historical, theoretical and musical data on the origins of Western polyphony up to the level reached with the eleventh-century dechant, the prototype of a truly polyphonic syntax.
The lack of knowledge of this period (800 to 1100), which is musically richer than it appears, and the desire to bring these hidden treasures to light and to revalue them, justify the unusual aspect of a publication that juxtaposes under the same cover - against all habit! - a long written study of musicological character, and musical texts whose presentation answers a double intention: to be able to be sung for themselves, and to supplement, by illustrating them, the historical and theoretical explanations.
The practical part (the scores) combines transcriptions and reconstructions, the latter scrupulously applying the rules that were once used by singers to treat an existing liturgical melody in polyphony.
The first work of its kind in the publishing world, this book will not leave the reader and the musician, or even the choirmaster, indifferent: the novelty of the approach, the revolutionary notation derived from the rhythmic theory of medieval chant prior to the mensuralist period, the author's thorough and erudite research, the deep knowledge of the field of investigation, will make this work an indispensable tool and reference. No less important is the quality of the writing, which is within the reach of all music lovers.

24 polyphonic scores edited and commented.

Content :
  • Rex caeli (Sequence Et Exemples Complementaires)
  • Nos qui vivimus (Antienne Et Psaume 144)
  • Caeli caelorum (Antienne Et Psaume 148)
  • Miserere (Antienne Et Psaume 51)
  • Tu civium Deus (Sequence) (Nektor Le Begue)
  • Carmen suo dilecto (Sequence) (Nokter Le Begue)
  • Alleluias (3 Alleluias Vocalises)
  • Trois antiennes
  • In aeternum (antienne et pPsaume 131)
  • Sequence pax vobis et Magnificat Psalmodié
  • Dies sanctificatus (Alleluia)
  • Multifarie olim (Alleluia)
  • Surrexit Christus (Alleluia)
  • Angelus Domini (Alleluia)
  • Regi regum glorioso
  • Ut tuo propitiatus
  • Laudate Dominum (Antienne Et Psaume 148)
  • Veni Sanctus Spiritus (Sequence)
  • Cunctipotens genitor (Kyrie Trope)
  • Benedicamus Domino
  • Justus ut palma (Alleluia)
  • Aeterne rerum Conditor (Hymne)
  • Te lucis ante terminum (Hymne)
  • Mirabilis (Alleluia Avec Prosule Mirabilis)
  • Multipharie (Alleluia Avec Prosule...)